Helloooo March

March 17, 2012 § 4 Comments

Nothing like opening up my blog and realizing that somehow it’s been a month since I last posted. It was a long winter of shivering in our little house, and turning on space heaters, the oven, the hot plate, and boiling pots of water to set out in our freezing bedroom. There were beautiful red flowers and holidays that promised spring’s arrival was near, and then another stretch of cold rain and wind. There were crazy busy days at the cafe, as people shuffled in for soup and warm coffee drinks. We catered a lovely party for a new bride and groom, and baked sheet after sheet of hamantaschen for Purim.

Salad plates set out for catering, in the cafe's kitchen

Nidal and Ida, cleaning wine glasses for a party at Belinda

cupcake-decorating centerpieces for each table (my chocolate cupcake recipe is simply this delicious devils food cake in cupcake-form)

Even after baking hundreds of these Purim cookies at work, I still felt inspired to make our own at home. I based my recipe off of Miriam Kresh's, of Israeli Kitchen.

Then in the midst of a rare Jerusalem snowstorm, my friend Anna arrived, her hair all golden from the california sun, and bringing a fresh, warm energy to our home. Her visit coincides with a big transition in our lives, my leaving my full-time cooking job at the cafe to pursue something new and exciting that I will be posting about soon. There are few friends that I would feel comfortable sharing my space with as I navigate the stress, and feelings of uncertainty during this time, but Anna is an amazing and supportive person who is helping me laugh my way into a new reality this month. More on that to come….

In the meantime I’d like to share these gluten-free recipes with you, as I’ve been experimenting with gluten-free eating this month. The following are new favorites (they all work, I promise!), enjoy!

Gluten free chocolatey brownies from Gluten Free Goddess

Fluffy Gluten free pancakes, also from Gluten Free Goddess 

Ari’s Qunioa Salad:

Rinse two cups of quinoa and cook in 2 cups of boiling water with a pinch of salt and a drizzle of oil. Bring to a boil and then simmer until done.

Toss quinoa with 2 peeled and diced carrots, a handful of chopped parsley, a handful of chopped mint, 1/2 cup raisins and 1/3 cup chopped walnuts.

Toss with this dressing:

juice of 1/2 an orange

juice of 1 lemon

salt, pepper, pinch of cayenne, pinch of cinnamon

1/3 cup good quality olive oil, drizzled in, while whisking vigorously

Tagged: , ,

§ 4 Responses to Helloooo March

  • Faye Levy says:

    Your quinoa salad sounds tasty and colorful.

    Good luck in your new project!

  • The centerpieces are really cute. I’m using quinoa this Pesach and I’m going to try this recipe. Mint is the only thing growing successfully in my window garden, so here’s my chance to use it!

    • kitchen girl says:

      Thanks Yosefa! They were fun to make. I hadn’t colored fondant since pastry school. It’s great to have the option of eating quinoa on Pesach. You can make a nice hot breakfast cereal with it as well. Hope you had a great chag!

      • I checked and cooked a whole bag of quinoa before Pesach. I made half like this and half more simple (lemon, olive oil, salt, chopped tomatoes, mint and green onions.) This was the winner. I will definitely do it again. I can’t believe my husband liked it.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Helloooo March at Ari Cooks.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 102 other followers

