Really. here. now.

March 31, 2012 § 5 Comments

One of the many archways of the Old City's Arab Quarter. Photo taken as Liz and I enjoy yet another afternoon spent exploring the Arab Shuk near the Damascus gate.

The unripe fruits appearing on our shesek (loquat) tree off the balcony are telling me that it’s been one full year since we moved into our Jerusalem apartment. A friend once told me that it takes at least that long for a new residence to feel like home and I agree. Having experienced each season here feels comforting, and gives the impression (illusion?) that I know what to expect.

So here it is, the cusp of April 2012 and things could not really be more different than they were not too long ago. Although there are things I miss very much about our Boston life, the life that has taken shape here is so wildly apart from that time, that trying to compare and contrast is… irrelevant. One of the only constants is my food writing and this blog, which I’ve struggled to maintain and to stay in touch with. My Israeli food-blogger friends have been extremely supportive and are an amazing professional network. Through them I’ve gotten jobs, writing gigs, emotional support and inspiration beyond what I could have possibly anticipated, especially so quickly after arriving.

Coffee Roasters in the Arab Shuk

This past month I was thrilled to write my first piece for the Forward’s Shabbat Meals section (thank you Liz!), which includes a couple of our favorite mezze dishes. You can click here to read that piece.

Salads for the Jew and the Carrot piece

I also want to take some space to announce food-writer Katherine Martinelli’s new e-cookbook! Katherine wrote, photographed, and developed & tested recipes for all of this 54-page brunch cookbook herself, in cooperation with hangtime press!! You can check it out here.

Congrats to Katherine!

Also, I am announcing a new category on my blog: Gluten Free. Long after a very lame attempt at trying out some GF recipes back in 2009 when we thought Jeff might have a gluten intolerance, I have been quite serious about trying a gluten free diet myself for the past six weeks due to some health issues. Although it is still unclear whether or not my body is actually intolerant of gluten, I have had a lot of fun discovering the world of GF baking and cooking and all the flours I had no idea existed.

Karina's delicious GF carrot bread, made using sorghum, rice, tapioca, and almond flours.

Lastly I want to share with you all that I am no longer working full time at the cafe, and have opened my own seamstress shop next to and in cooperation with a Vintage Clothing Store here in Jerusalem. I would like to thank the owners of the shop, Shira and Judy, for all their help and also Emunah, who was running the seamstress shop before I was, for the loan of her sewing machine and all her great advice.

...and thank you to Jeff Amshalem for painting the sign <3 (photo by Judy)

Hope you have a happy April and a chag sameach, and keep a lookout for a new Forward piece on my favorite spring dishes for Passover, coming out later this week.

Tagged: ,

§ 5 Responses to Really. here. now.

  • Oh Ariella we have so much catching up to do!!! First of all, thank you for the shout-out :-D You are too kind! And I have to agree with you on what a wonderful food blogging/writing community we have. It’s something special indeed. I am so glad to see you’re writing for the Forward as well! I can’t wait to check out your pieces. And, finally, I knew you had left the cafe but I had no idea that you had opened up a seamstress shop! How exciting!! I can’t wait to stop by next time I’m in Jerusalem :D

  • That is great new Ariella! I am so happy for you. We have to get together soon!

    • kitchen girl says:

      Thanks for the support, Michelle. I am having so much fun sewing right now. It’s really nice to not be in the kitchen full time, I have to say. Although I never get tired of cooking and baking, the whole cooking-to-order thing is STRESSFUL and exhausting. Hope you had a great chag and that we see each other soon!

  • banquethall says:

    Love the mezza reccommendations you suggested. Will use it for my functions

  • foodbridge says:

    Bit late here but good luck with your new job and congrats with publishing your post in the Forward. You’ve got so many talents under your belt! I really need to make another visit to Jerusalem, Hannukah was a long time ago already.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Really. here. now. at Ari Cooks.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 105 other followers

