The Absurdity

December 25, 2013 § 3 Comments

My big girl in the aftermath of the recent Jerusalem snowstorm

My big girl in the aftermath of the recent Jerusalem snowstorm

Every day is an adventure

The days are long but the years are short

Parenthood is the hardest job you will ever do

Enjoy them while they are young, because they will hate you later

These are things that I hear, as well as say (with the exception of the last one)  to parents of young children who, like me, are in the throes of a very trying time that they will somehow later look back on with nostalgia, affection, and even longing. It’s not pretty when you’re in it, in fact sometimes it’s quite the shitshow, but our human brains continue to mystify in their ability to remember things ever-so-selectively. Right now, I am in the trenches. Our little baby, who just weeks ago amazed all of our friends with her easy-going and adorable demeanor, is in full-teething mode and my older daughter is going through some kind of emotional somethingorother, most likely related to being a new big sister.

During moments of hopeful clarity, I think that I will figure out how to organize my non-existent free time better, so that we can still eat a varied menu full of things that my older daughter will be willing to try and that will not feel like ‘kid-food’ to my husband and me. The joke’s on me, since it’s usually all I can do to eat anything at all besides rice cakes dipped into the peanut butter jar and bowls of granola doused in rice milk. Yeasted saffron-butter cakes and persian rice pilafs continue to taunt me in my facebook newsfeed, along with my food-blogger friends’ instagram pictures of noodle hot pots in New York City and stuffed savory pastries for breakfast in Istanbul.

Someday.

Right now  I am not [too] ashamed to say that we eat a lot of pasta and tomato sauce, which I do manage to make with tomatoes I buy at the shuk on Sunday or Monday- the best days to get cooking tomatoes leftover from the pre-Shabbat shopping rush. We also eat tofu, tofu and more tofu, lightly sauteed or baked in a combo of soy sauce, toasted sesame oil and olive oil. Endless omelettes (I am going to brag here– I make a really good egg, folks), and sometimes vegetable soup, if we are getting really fancy.

Happy depths-of-winter to you all, with love and a little madness, from Nachlaot, Jerusalem, Israel.

Tagged:

§ 3 Responses to The Absurdity

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Absurdity at Ari Cooks.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 102 other followers

