Oh Sigh

dessert, Vegan

IMG_1126Have I mentioned I have a two-year-old? We call her Dolly mostly, although that’s not her name. She also goes by Li-li, Li-loosh, La la, and peanut butter. Oh, and tuna fish.

Who knows where these names come from? When you have a child, names just start coming out of your mouth, you have no control over it, it’s… absurd really.

Anyway, she is really quite something and every single time I look at her I cannot believe how beautiful/silly/happy/crazy/irritating/time consuming/lovable/and exhausting she is. She is so small, it doesn’t always make sense.

Why am I telling you this?

Because I have been making a lot of excuses lately about this blog. I really am enjoying doing it immensely, but it’s funny because I think it is pretty mediocre, not up to par, not a true reflection of how I feel about food, cooking and life. I know, I will get there. But I keep thinking that my daughter is the reason why I am not applying myself more fully. And that’s not true. If being a parent and trying to run my own little business while still making my home life a priority has taught me anything at all, it is this: I have a hell of a lot more time than I think I do (or pretend to have). It is all about time management and letting go of things that don’t matter.

Before my business partner and I started the ballet school together we took a small business course at a local adult education center. This was pre-child, when I was still clinging to the idea that I could control just about every single thing that came my way. Our teacher wasn’t all that helpful when it came to actually guiding us in the creation of a business plan, but in the course of six weeks he said something that has stayed with me for the past three years and that I think was worth the eighty five bucks to be honest.

He said (to the women in the room): Ladies, you cannot expect to have a small business, have children and still have a clean house.

I have no idea if that resonates with any of you out there, but I think about it almost every single day and laugh. Because you know what? It is so true. And it’s okay. The Dolly is napping right now, and I could be doing dishes (there’s a nasty pile of them next to the sink), I SHOULD be making dinner (no one else is going to do it), I could definitely be trying to make some headway on the laundry situation or you know, writing a thank you note to my mother in law for everything she did while she was here visiting.

But those things can wait. Because if I don’t make this blog what I want it to be I am going to explode.

Oh sigh.

Okay, now down to business: Here is my favorite vegan chocolate chip cookie recipe- I know it ain’t homemade ravioli, but what can I do? You want a thoughtful post and an outstanding recipe?! That’s gonna take some practice.

Vegan Chocolate Chip Cookies

These are inspired by the recipe in Vegan With a Vengeance, I played with the amounts, and added orange zest to make them my own.

1 cup non hydrogenated margarine (I have sued different brands/types in this recipe and have concluded that Earth Balance Vegan Buttery Sticks work BEST)

3/4 cup sugar

1 Tbs molasses (I never measure, just squeeze in the amount that looks like 1 Tbs)

2 tsp vanilla extract

1 scant teaspoon orange zest (optional)

2  1/2 cups whole wheat pastry flour/all purpose flour, or a combination

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp salt

1  1/2 cups dark chocolate chips (or 1 cup choc chips and 1/2 cup chopped walnuts)

Preheat oven to 350 F

Cream together the margarine and sugar until fluffy then add the molasses, vanilla and zest, mix well. Sift (mix with a fork or wire whisk) together the dry ingredients (minus the chocolate chips) in a separate bowl and then add them to the margarine mixture and combine. Mix in chocolate chips and nuts, if using. The dough will be stiff.

IMG_1124

Scoop teaspoonfuls of the batter onto ungreased cookie sheets about 2 inches apart, flatten slightly. Bake for 12 minutes or until lightly browned. Let cool on baking sheets for 5 minutes and the transfer to racks to cool completely.

IMG_1128

One thought on “Oh Sigh

Leave a Reply

