Wasabi Ice Cream

February 22, 2010 § 2 Comments

I realize it is still February and I have always been one of those summer-time-only ice cream eaters. As a matter of fact, even some summer evenings here in Boston are too chilly for me to eat ice cream and on those occasions it has to be the right circumstances (i.e. either my own creation or from Christina’s– the only place for ice cream as far as I am concerned). But I was getting a little bored of cakes, pies, cookies, cupcakes and (when desperation hit) squares of dark baking chocolate. We believe in eating dessert after almost every meal in our house, so it goes without saying that we have had our share and more of all those things this chilly season. Suddenly, standing in my kitchen amongst the bags of flour, measuring cups and mixing bowls, I could not stand to grease one more pan or measure another cup of whole wheat pastry flour. I needed something really different.

I guess I should let you know right now that this recipe has neither wasabi nor cream. This “ice cream” came from Wheeler Del Torro’s The Vegan Scoop, which is a pretty incredible book of 150 dairy-free recipes that are divided into aptly titled categories, such as “Classic Flavors”, “Fruity Flavors”, “Asian Flavors”, “Aphrodisiacal Flavors” and so on. As far as the wasabi goes, what I used here was a paste that, while labeled “wasabi paste,” was in actuality (as many if not most wasabi pastes in supermarkets and restaurants are) a mixture of horseradish (a close relative of wasabi root), tumeric and food coloring. Now that we have the disclaimers out of the way, we can move on.

If you are vegan or lactose intolerant and an ice cream lover, I highly recommend that you pick up a copy of The Vegan Scoop. I assure you, I have tried many vegan ice cream recipes and Del Torro’s formula is by far the absolute best. Also he is so creative and obviously not at all satisfied with simply having made the best tasting vegan ice cream out there. He has also experimented extensively, bringing us recipes like “Goji Berry Banana”, “Orange Dragon Fruit”, and “Vanilla Cardomom” as well as the classics, such as “Mint Chocolate Chip”, “Black Raspberry” and “Butter Pecan”. If you need more prompting, just google the man and you will see the praise that has been heaped upon him for his frozen creations.

Wasabi Ice Cream, from The Vegan Scoop

special equipment: ice cream maker (I use this one)

1 cup soymilk

2 Tbs arrowroot powder

2 cups soy milk creamer (I use the Silk brand)

1 Tbs wasabi paste (get the real thing if you can, but the substitutes will do. If all you can find is the powder- you can combine it will a little bit of water to form a paste)

3/4 cup sugar

1 Tbs vanilla extract

check the fine print

In a small bowl, combine 1/4 cup soy milk with the arrowroot powder, stir and set aside.

Mix the soy creamer and remaining 3/4 cup of soy milk, wasabi paste, and sugar in a saucepan and cook over low heat. Once mixture has just begun to boil, remove from heat (keep your eye on it, or it will quickly bubble over) and immediately add arrowroot cream. This will cause the liquid to thicken noticeably.

Add vanilla extract.

Refrigerate until chilled, ~ 2-3 hours. Freeze according to your ice cream makers instructions.

Yield: ~ 1 quart.

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Wasabi Ice Cream

  • emmaorussell says:

    What did you think of it? I’ve also just blogged Wasabi Ice Cream? What did you serve it with?

    • kitchen girl says:

      I thought it fun as a novelty flavor, certainly not something I would make every time I am craving ice cream. I ate it straight up, but I think next time I might serve it alongside a less surprising flavor like strawberry or peach. That might be a yummy combo. Or if you are looking for a garnish, maybe a caramel-dipped madeline cookie.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Wasabi Ice Cream at Ari Cooks.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 102 other followers

