Some News

AriCooks

Things have been very busy around here and it is taking every shred of my time management know-how to get meals on the table, so I haven’t had much time to share just what it is exactly we’ve been eating the past couple of weeks. I’ll give you a brief synopsis and then move on to some news I have to share with you all.

What we eat when the going gets…crazy:

eggs…a lot of eggs – fried, scrambled, hard-boiled etc

fruit – ’cause you just wash it and eat it

frittata and quiche – uh I guess that falls under ‘eggs’, but whatever

rice and beans – I know, how innovative. But hey, it does the job

pasta with tomato sauce – thank you, Trader Joes

things wrapped in a whole wheat tortilla – doesn’t really matter what it is

my favorite vegan chocolate cake – it’s really easy

salads

marinated tofu – just toss it in whatever’s around; tamari, mustard, minced garlic, sesame oil, whathaveyou

peanut butter – it really goes with just about everything

goat cheese

Okay, I know the leafy greens are sorely missing from this list, but I figured I may as well be honest with you. I wish  there was more variety here, but that’s just the way it is sometimes. The good news is, time and inspiration are not long to come because Jeff and Auralee and I will be spending the summer in Jerusalem! Hurray! To say that I am excited, happy, and relieved to be getting out of here for a bit, would be a vast understatement: it’s feels more like salvation has arrived.

I cannot wait to share the culinary riches that await us there, with you all. Israel is fruit and vegetable HEAVEN and I will be toting my little bean through the outdoor produce market on a near-daily basis, trying to curb my near-bursting exuberance for what we procure there (it won’t be easy).

Stay tuned.

One thought on “Some News

  1. Wow, what an adventure!! I hope the three of you have an absolutely spectacular summer. Can’t wait to hear all about it.

Leave a Reply

