Carrot Ginger Dressing

Dairy Free, Salad, Vegan, vegetarian, Wheat Free

Seeing as this is a blog about food and cooking, I make sure to keep my politics to myself. But whatever team you play for in the realm of Middle East affairs, this week’s events have been tough to swallow. In times like this, I like to retreat to my kitchen and cook up something, comforting or new or time-consuming to take my mind away from the emotional roller-coaster that comes with being the child of once-Israeli citizens. However, things at the ol’ dance studio have been a little too hectic for that, so the best escape I’m making do with is right here, right now, with this very cold Guiness and a salad dressing recipe I made a couple of weeks ago, that I think is really worth sharing.

This recipe comes from one of my old Marth Stewart Living clippings. Back in 2003 the magazine published a great bunch of dressing recipes which I am a little embarrassed to say, took me until now to try. I am one of those people who has just a few dressings in her repertoire and makes them over and over, as they go with almost any salad. I am not a great lover of discovering new vinegars or oils or salad dressing recipes to put them in. I like the salads themselves to be the stars and if I need to add more than a little olive oil or citrus, I may just decide it’s not worth making.

This Carrot Ginger dressing is so good you will be tempted to eat it by the spoonful (which I most certainly did), and it has the added benefits of not only being a stunningly appealing shade of orange, but also so chock full of carrots that it most certainly boosts your salads vegetable content, while flavoring (dressing) it at the same time…. brilliant!

Carrot Miso and Ginger Dressing, from Martha Stewart Living, February 2003

Note: In case you have ever wondered how they make that delicious carrot dressing served at most Japanese restaurants, this is it! Serve this with any simple salad of your choosing.

Ingredients

Serves 4

1 1/2 tablespoons minced fresh ginger (1 1/2-inch piece)

1 large carrot, finely grated

2 tablespoons plus 1 teaspoon rice-wine vinegar

2 teaspoons white miso

3 tablespoons canola or vegetable oil

1 tablespoon water, if needed

Directions

In the bowl of a food processor, pulse ginger and carrot to a coarse paste. Add vinegar and miso, and pulse to combine.

With the machine running, slowly add oil in a thin, steady stream through the feed tube until mixture is emulsified. Add water if dressing is too thick. Use immediately, or store in an airtight container in the refrigerator up to 1 week.

Leave a Reply

