Little Almond Cookies and…

AriCooks, dessert

The Jewish new year is nearly here and I have been trying to get some serious Rosh Hashannah baking done (not always easy with a three year old). I really would love to share my honey cake, lemon bundt, and favorite kibbutz apple cake recipes with you all, but with all the holiday hullabaloo (and Auralee starting preschool!!) I am afraid that sharing these little cookies might be all I have time for… well, that and some rather big news.

Let’s start with the news.

This January, Jeff and Auralee and I are moving to Israel.

Needless to say, we are feeling a lot of things, but I think the biggest one for me, is gratitude. I am so thankful to have had these eleven years in Boston. It has been truly amazing to become an adult and to grow as a dancer and dance teacher here, not to mention the opportunities I’ve had to train as a florist and pastry chef. I am leaving this place with MANY more skills than I arrived with, and that alone is really a good feeling. I will also be leaving behind a truly supportive and inspiring community of friends and family, dancers, mentors, housemates, a business partner and a two fabulous places where I have been very lucky to work, The Dance Complex and The Cambridge School of Culinary Arts. Sometimes when I look at all I have here, I wonder if I am crazy to leave it behind. This has not been an easy decision.

When the time to move on has come, however, you just know it. This is our time to go.

These first few moths of 5771 will be unbelievably full for us, and I am a little concerned for my sanity during this major transition. I hope to be able to continue posting regularly here but if there are some lapses, you’ll know why.

In the mean time, I wish those of you celebrating, a sweet New Year and to the rest of you, enjoy the last few days of summer!

Little Almond, Lemon and Sesame Cookies, adapated from, The Modern Baker, by Nick Malgieri

2 large eggs

2/3 cup sugar

12 Tablespoons (1 1/2 sticks) butter or margarine, melted

1 Tbs fine grated lemon zest

1 tsp vanilla extract

2 cups all-purpose flour (or a mix of AP and WW pastry)

1/3 cup sesame seeds (I used toasted seeds)

2 cups slivered almonds, fine chopped, but not ground, divided

1 1/2 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

Set the racks in the upped and lower thirds of the oven and preheat to 350º F (180º C).

Grease two cookie sheets or line with parchment paper.

In a medium mixing bowl, whisk the eggs to break them up. In a stream, whisk in the sugar, followed by the slightly cooled butter (make sure you do not cook your eggs) , lemon zest and vanilla.

In a medium bowl, mix together the flour, sesame seeds, 1/3 cup of the almonds, the baking powder and salt, and stir into the egg and butter mixture.

Spread the remaining 1 2/3 cups of almonds onto a flat plate. Roll about a 1 tsp of dough at a time in the chopped almonds, then transfer to the prepared pans. Leave about 2-3 inches between each cookie and flatten them with the bottom of a glass.

Bake the cookies until the spread well, have risen and are golden brown ~ 15 minutes. About halfway through the baking process, switch the placement of the pans on the oven so that they cookies will bake evenly.

Cool the cookies on a rack.

2 thoughts on “Little Almond Cookies and…

  1. Just made these cookies and they came out perfect! Thanks for making the recipe so easy to follow. I can’t wait to try some of the others 🙂

Leave a Reply

