Greens!

Quick Meals, Salad, vegetarian, Winter

Sometimes people ask me how we manage to eat all the tasty meals and treats featured on this blog. I assure them that it is hardly ever an issue because we are eating enthusiasts, and what I make is not just for show, but rather what sustains us. Cooking and baking may not be my full-time jobs right now, but they are at the very least a useful obsession. With that in mind, it does not take a thorough examination of our recent menus to notice that, with a couple of exceptions our diet has been a little starch-heavy lately. I suddenly found myself needing a very large plate of green leafy something or other before I could even consider another quickbread or pasta dish.

This recipe turned a large pile of mustard greens (not often something that makes me jump for joy), into a warm, flavorful dinner, when embellished with some seasoned seitan strips (a Trader Joe’s find). I can’t recommend this recipe enough, it is the perfect remedy for the upcoming season of overindulgence.

Warm Mustard Green Salad with ginger and shallot, adapted from Gourmet Today

The Seitan Strips are entirely optional, I was trying to turn this in to a light meal so I added them for protein. You could also slice up some hard-boiled eggs and scatter those over the salad.

Large bunch mustard greens, washed well, stems removed

1/3 cup golden raisins (I used currants)

1 Tbs minced ginger

2 Tbs honey

1 shallot, minced

1/3 cup rice vinegar

1/3 vegetable oil (I used safflower)

1 ripe avocado, diced

I package of Trader Joe’s seasoned seitan strips(optional)

Combine the shallot, ginger, vinegar, honey and raisins in a small saucepan and bring to a simmer. Turn off the heat and set aside. Cut the mustard greens into thin strips and place in a heat-proof bowl. Whisk the oil into the warmed mixture and drizzle over the greens. Toss with diced avocado and top with seitan strips if using.

Leave a Reply

