The most beautiful girl in the world

AriCooks, pasta, Quick Meals, Tips and Tricks, Vegan, vegetarian

Sometimes I look at Auralee and I just cannot believe how gorgeous she is. I mean, did she really come from me? Well, yes. I remember it well actually. Ugh. Anyway, I’d much rather stare at her little face than think about the time before I knew what it would look like, although I have often had the peculiar feeling that I always knew exactly what she would look like, and there are few surprises when it comes to her personality as well. In many ways, Auralee is me, only smaller, cuter and, I would venture to say, even more sure of herself. She is pretty wonderful… when she’s not throwing a tantrum, of course.

There are a lot of things you wish for your child, as you trek further down the road of parenthood — far too many to list. But some of the important and recurring wishes I have for Auralee are that she live life without shame and never lose the joyfulness with which she now approaches the things she loves. By the time many of us reach adulthood, we have learned to habitually second-guess ourselves and to feel a certain amount of embarrassment and self-consciousness when it comes to expressing and admitting what makes us truly happy. Let’s hope Jeff and I are up to the task of helping her grow into the kind of adults we want to be, ourselves.

Simple Sauce with fresh herbs

Though I am pretty sure that most of you are not cooking every recipe along with me, if you were to have recently made the corn soup and veggie pancakes, I bet you would STILL have fairly large bunches of thyme and rosemary left over. I am really trying here, people…. how many ways can I use these tasty guys before they go rotten?? Well here’s another answer: a  very simple marinara sauces where the herbs are stars of the show. (I added some fresh basil, which leaves with the new task of finding a purpose for the remainder…)

olive oil

1 large onion, finely chopped

12 (or so) medium tomatoes, coarsely chopped (no need to peel)

2-3 cloves garlic, minced

1/4 cup tomato paste

2 Tbs each chopped fresh rosemary and thyme

salt and pepper

fresh basil

Heat the olive oil in a wide saucepan over medium heat. Add the onions and saute gently until the turn soft and are getting some color (if they are browning too quickly, turn the heat down a bit). Add the chopped tomatoes, garlic, salt and pepper, and cook until the tomatoes begin to break down. Add the thyme and rosemary and stir in the tomato paste. Cook the mixture over medium until it is bubbling, then turn down the heat and simmer until it looks saucy. This will take about 25 minutes or so (I cooked mine a little longer– it’s really up to you, just don’t let too much liquid cook out, or you will have a dense, pasty sauce). Add the fresh basil and cook for another minute or two. Serve over whole wheat pasta of your choice.

great Israeli brand of whole wheat pasta, 'Adama'

3 thoughts on “The most beautiful girl in the world

  1. So beautifully expressed- both your feeling about your daughter and about the desire to raise her as we all hoped we raised or will raise our own children.
    Jan

  2. She is gorgeous and the SPITTING IMAGE of you at that age. Remember, I babysat for you when you were five at which time you told me all about the guy who invented the Polio vaccine. Anyway, reading your blog reminds me of how awesome you are. I miss you guys! So glad you are having such a rich foodie experience over there. Send Jeff our love.

    Shana

Leave a Reply

