Fennel Orange Salad

AriCooks, Dairy Free, Salad, Vegan

Every week, I promise myself that I will not save my weekend shopping until Friday, when the shuk here in Jerusalem is bursting at the seams with Shabbat shoppers all running over each other’s feet with our little pulley carts. Yet, every Friday morning I find myself, once again, elbowing my way to the loquats, the onions, and the parsley, and shouting my order at the pickle man, as I try to be heard over the enthusiastic tour group behind me.

Yesterday, as I walked up the insanity that is Agripas Street (now that every bus in the city has been rerouted there because of the light rail construction, coming soon…since 1990), I vowed once again that next week I will do my shopping on Thursday, like a normal person.

Under the canopy at Aroma: being caffeinated is essential for successful shuk-shopping, otherwise one might be besieged by chalva sellers and trampled by old ladies wielding large bunches of braided garlic

Shopping amidst chaos presents two problems: one, it’s tough to navigate, and two, I get so overwhelmed, I forget what I came for. Luckily, when I returned to our apartment it seemed I did in fact have the makings of a nutritious though quirky Shabbat dinner.

Auralee helping me make the filling for stuffed grape leaves

Fennel Orange Salad 

Although not exactly a spring salad, it seems fitting since I don’t consider 60° F days deserving of the title. Hopefully the consistent warm weather is around the corner, and whatever the case, this salad is fresh and delicious in any season.

1 large fennel bulb, finely chopped

2-3 small cucumbers (US cucumbers are  much larger, so you could probably use 1), peeled and finely chopped

1 orange bell pepper, ribbed, seeded and finely chopped

1-2 oranges, peeled and chopped

Combine everything in a large bowl and toss to coat with juices from the orange. Add a couple teaspoons of good-quality olive oil and a sprinkling of salt and toss again. Serve immediately.

Serves 4



One thought on “Fennel Orange Salad

  1. I have never really liked fennel,but together with oranges it is really yummy.And from Miriam I learned that oven roasted fennel is really delicious as well:)
    You are so lucky to be able to shop in that wonderful shuq!

Leave a Reply

