Chocolate Sorbet

Dairy Free, dessert, Summer, Vegan

One of the food writers I’m acquainted with here in Israel has a blog aptly named, Hope it will Rain. This phrase is stuck in in my head these days, as the once-lush, green valley where we like to walk, has turned brittle and brown in recent weeks — typical for most of the country’s grassy spaces at the end of July.

A hot Shabbat afternoon in the Valley of the Cross עמק המצלבה

hot weather flowers

my favorite tree, next to the Monastery of the Cross

I can think of few things that sound better at the end of long, hot walk, than cold watermelon slices and chocolate sorbet. (And apparently, I’m not the only one.)

Chocolate Sorbet, from Smitten Kitchen

Due to factors beyond my control, I remain sans food-processor for the time being. It’s tough, but I try to take these things in stride. Likewise, when my ice cream-maker decided it didn’t like running on my little converter after a few minutes of weak churning, I simply poured the mixture into a tupperware and froze it as it was, with perfectly acceptable results. 

2 1/4 cups (555 ml) water

1 cup (200 g) sugar

3/4 cup (75 g) unsweetened Dutch-process cocoa powder

Pinch of salt

6 ounces (170 g) bittersweet or semisweet chocolate, finely chopped

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

In a large saucepan whisk together 1 1/2 cups (375 ml) of the water with the sugar, cocoa powder, and salt. Bring to a boil, whisking frequently. Let it boil, continuing to whisk, for 45 seconds.

Remove from the heat and stir in the chocolate until it’s melted, then stir in the vanilla extract and the remaining 3/4 cup (180 ml) water. Blend the mixture with an immersion blender, or whisk very, very well. Chill the mixture thoroughly (for 3-5 hours), then freeze it in your ice cream maker according to the manufacturer’s instructions. If the mixture has become too thick to pour into your machine, whisk it vigorously to thin it out. If you do not have an ice cream maker, just freeze the chilled mixture and prepare yourself for some seriously rich, pudding-like, chocolate sorbet.

3 thoughts on “Chocolate Sorbet

  1. This looks just about perfect for the weather here in Boston. It was 90 last night when we went to bed. (I know, I know, I can’t really complain about this to someone in Israel…)

    1. I don’t know…in Boston the heat always feels like more of a surprise (especially after that horrid winter you guys had). At any rate, in Jerusalem we don’t have the humidity, so the heat is usually fairly bearable.

  2. Nice sorbet,just right for the hot weather:) I wish it would rain too;the nature is so dehydrated now,and I can see it so clearly after having just arrived from Finland,where the summer is so green and lush.
    I like your new banner!

Leave a Reply

