Plenty

AriCooks

I took a walk around our little neighborhood the other day to pick some grape leaves for stuffing (memulaim).

There were a lot to choose from…

Amazingly there never seems to be a season when there is not something edible growing or ripening within arm’s reach. The unwritten rule of wild city edibles in Israel, is that whatever is growing/overhanging on the outside of the property owner’s fence, neighbors and passersby are free to pick.

It's nearly pomegranate season!

passionfruit; first come the amazingly beautiful flowers, than the small fruits.

After I had gathered the largest grape leaves I could, I went home to stuff them using this recipe, still our favorite after many years.

Whether you are using fresh-picked or brined leaves, you must blanch them in boiling water before stuffing.

I like to separate mine into piles according to size.

Stuff, cook and enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Plenty

  1. That’s so cool. I’ll have to keep an eye out. I didn’t know you have to blanch the brined leaves. I always use them right out of the jar, but I use my fingernails to pinch off the tougher stem.

  2. There’s a place in Jerusalem that has so much growing wild, I hardly know what to do with myself. This post reminded me that after my last visit to the aforementioned spot, I came home with grape leaves, grapes, fennel (fronds, pollen and root), as well as almonds and a fig or two. dried the grapes into raisins, and stuffed the grape leaves with everything I had brought home, plus a bit of rice. Who needs the shuk? 🙂 Thank you for your blog, I just discovered it, and will keep my eye on out for new posts as I cook my way through my time in Jerusalem!

Leave a Reply

